Dear Supporter,

Campaign for Liberty gave candidates for State House and Senate an opportunity to provide a straight answer to the following questions.  The candidates' answers can be seen below the list of questions.


  1. Will you oppose efforts to cooperate with a national ID card system and vote to block all state funding for and cooperation with any national ID scheme including Real ID and Pass ID programs?
  2. Do you oppose the use of unmanned devices being used for law enforcement and used in order to fine citizens?
  3. Will you support a “Constitutional Carry” bill that would allow any law-abiding citizen to carry a firearm concealed without a permit?
  4. Will you support legislation to nullify ObamaCare and authorize state and local law enforcement to arrest federal officials attempting to implement the unconstitutional health care scheme known as ObamaCare?
  5. Will you support legislation to end the use of “no knock” warrants?
  6. Will you support legislation that would allow TSA agents to be charged with sexual assault if they use invasive “pat-down” procedures?
  7. Do you oppose taking federal money to create a state health insurance exchange?


State House "Y"=Yes "N"=No "+"=Will Sponsor
District Party First Last City Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7
1 D Mark M. Nakashima Honokaa
2 D Clift Tsuji Hilo
3 R Marlene Hapai Kurtistown
3 D Richard H. K. Onishi Hilo
3 L Frederick F. Fogel Volcano Y N Y N Y Y Y
4 D Faye P. Hanohano Pahoa
4 N Hope Louise Cermelj Pahoa  Y  Y  N  N  Y  Y  Y
5 R Dave Bateman Holualoa
5 D Denny Coffman Kailua Kona
6 R Roy Ebert Kailua Kona Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
6 D Nicole Lowen Kailua Kona
7 D Cindy Evans Waikoloa
8 D Joe Souki Wailuku
9 D Gil S. Keith-Agaran Wailuku
10 D Angus L. McKelvey Lahaina
10 R Chayne M. Marten Lahaina
11 R George R. Fontaine Kihei
11 D Kaniela Ing Kihei
12 D Kyle T. Yamashita Pukalani
12 R Ekolu Kalama Kula Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
13 D Mele Carroll Haiku
13 R Simon S. Russell Haiku Y+ Y+ Y Y Y+ Y+ Y+
14 D Derek S. K. Kawakami Kapaa
15 D James K. Tokioka Lihue
16 D Daynette Morikawa Lihue
16 R Troy Trujillo Koloa
17 R Gene Ward Honolulu
18 D Mark J. Hashem Honolulu
18 R Jeremy Low Honolulu Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+
19 R Darrell Young Honolulu
19 D Bertrand Kobayashi Honolulu
20 D Calvin K. Y. Say Honolulu
20 R Julia E. Allen Honolulu
20 G Keiko Bonk Honolulu
20 N Joseph K. Heaukulani Honolulu
21 D Scott Y. Nishimoto Honolulu
22 R Marcus Hester Honolulu
22 D Tom Brower Honolulu
23 R Zach Thomson Honolulu Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
23 D Isaac W. Choy Honolulu
24 R Isaiah Sabey Honolulu
24 D Della Au Belatti Honolulu
25 D Sylvia Luke Honolulu
26 R Tiffany H. Y. Au Honolulu
26 D Scott K. Saiki Honolulu
27 R Corinne W. L. Ching Honolulu
27 D Takashi Ohno Honolulu
28 R Carole K. Kaapu Honolulu
28 D John M. Mizuno Honolulu
29 D Karl Rhoads Honolulu
30 D Romy M. Cachola Honolulu
31 R Aaron L. Johanson Honolulu
31 D Lei Sharsh Aiea
32 R Garner M. Shimizu Honolulu
32 D Linda E. Ichiyama Aiea
33 R Sam Kong Aiea
33 D K. Mark Takai Pearl City
34 D Gregg Takayama Pearl City
35 D Roy M. Takumi Pearl City
36 R Beth Fukumoto Mililani
36 D Marilyn B. Lee Mililani
37 D Ryan I. Yamane Waipahu
37 R Emil Svrcina Mililani Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
38 D Henry J.C. Aquino Waipahu
39 R Carl J. Wong Waipahu N Y Y Y N N Y
39 D Ty Cullen Waipahu
40 R Bob McDermott Ewa Beach Y Y Y Y Y
40 D Chris Manabat Ewa Beach
41 R Adam G. Reeder Honolulu
41 D Rida Cabanilla Arakawa Ewa Beach
42 R Marissa D. Capelouto Kapolei
42 D Sharon E. Har Kapolei
43 R Glenn V. Butler Waianae Y Y N Y Y Y Y
43 D Karen L. Awana Nanakuli
44 R Creighton P. Higa Waianae
44 D Jo Jordan Waianae
45 R Lauren K. Cheape Mililani
45 D Jake Bradshaw Waianae
46 R Chris Murphy Wahiawa
46 D Marcus R. Oshiro Wahiawa
47 R Richard Fale Hauula
47 D D. Ululani Beirne Kaneohe Y Y N N Y Y N
48 D Jessica Wooley Kaneohe
49 D Ken Ito Kaneohe
50 R Cynthia Thielen Kailua
51 D Chris Lee Kailua
51 R Henry Vincent Kailua N Y Y Y Y Y Y
State Senate
1 D Gilbert Kahele Hilo
2 D Russell E. Ruderman Keaau
2 R Daryl Lee Smith HI Nat'l Park
3 D Josh Green Captain Cook
3 R Jeff R. LaFrance Kailua Kona Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
3 N Michael L. Last Naalehu Y N Y N Y N N
4 D Malama Solomon Kamuela
4 G Kelly Greenwell Kailua Kona
5 D Shan S. Tsutsui Wailuku
6 D Roz Baker Lahaina
6 R Bart Mulvihill Lahaina
7 D J. Kalani English Hana
7 N Kanohowailuku Helm Hoolehua
8 R William F. Georgi Eleele Y Y Y+ Y Y Y+ Y+
8 D Ronald D. Kouchi Lihue
9 D Kurt Lajala Honolulu
9 R Sam Slom Honolulu Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y
10 D Les Ihara Honolulu
10 R Eric B. Marshall Honolulu
11 R Larry Fenton Honolulu Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+
11 D Brian T. Taniguchi Honolulu
12 D Brickwood M. Galuteria Honolulu
12 R Liz Larson Honolulu Y+ Y Y+ Y Y Y
13 D Suzanne N.J. Chun Oakland Honolulu N N N N N
14 D Donna Mercado Kim Honolulu
15 D Glenn Wakai Honolulu
16 R Mike Greco Aiea Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+
16 D David Y. Ige Aiea
17 D Clarence Nishihara Waipahu
18 R Rojo Herrera Mililani
18 D Michelle Kidani Mililani
19 D Will Espero Ewa Beach
20 R Dean Kalani Capelouto Kapolei
20 D Mike Gabbard Kapolei
21 R Dickyj Johnson Waianae
21 D Maile S.L. Shimabukuro Waianae
22 R Charles Aki Mililani Y Y+ Y Y+ Y Y+ Y
22 D Donovan Dela Cruz Wahiawa
23 D Clayton Hee Kaneohe
23 R Colleen Meyer Kaneohe
24 D Jill N. Tokuda Kaneohe
25 R Fred Hemmings Kaneohe Y N Y Y Y Y Y
25 D Laura Thielen Waimanalo

Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF