Home » North Dakota State Legislative Candidates

North Dakota State Legislative Candidates


North Dakota State Legislative Candidates

Dear Supporter,

Campaign for Liberty gave candidates for State House and Senate an opportunity to provide a straight answer to the following questions.  The candidates’ answers can be seen below the list of questions.


  1. Do you oppose the use of unmanned devices being used for law enforcement and used in order to fine citizens?
  2. Do you oppose the use of state funds and state employees for lobbying legislators directly or indirectly through associations such as the Association of School Boards, the North Dakota Municipal League, and Sheriffs Association?
  3. Will you support a “Constitutional Carry” bill that would allow any law-abiding citizen to carry a firearm concealed without a permit?
  4. Would you support legislation that would require the courts to inform juries of the principle of Jury Nullification?
  5. Will you oppose all efforts to equip state police with “extraction devices” that download all of citizens’ cell phone information without a warrant?
  6. Will you support legislation that would allow TSA agents to be charged with sexual assault if they use invasive “pat-down” procedures?
  7. Do you oppose taking federal money to create a state health insurance exchange?


State House “Y”=Yes “N”=No “+”=Will Sponsor
District Party First Last City Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7
2 R David S. Rust Tioga
2 R Bob Skarphol Tioga
2 D Dorvan Solberg Ray
4 D Tom Conklin Douglas
4 D Kenton Onstad Parshall
4 R Glen Froseth Kenmare
6 D Bob Hunskor Newburg
6 D Cindy Shattuck Velva
6 R Dick Anderson Willow City
6 R Myron Hanson Souris
7 R Rick Becker Bismarck
7 R Jason Dockter Bismarck Y Y Y N Y N Y
7 D Tom Kelsh Lincoln
7 D Warren D. Larson Bismarck
8 R Jeff Delzer Underwood
8 R Vernon Laning Bismarck N Y Y Y Y Y Y
8 D Casey D. Buchmann Washburn Y Y Y Y Y+ Y N
8 D Tanya Stebbins Coleharbor
10 R Charles Damschen Hampden
10 R David Monson Osnabrock Y Y Y Y
12 D Lyle Hanson Jamestown
12 D Jessica Haak Jamestown
12 R Kenneth Hall Jamestown Y Y Y Y Y Y
12 R Alex Looysen Jamestown Y+ Y Y Y Y Y Y+
14 R Robin Weisz Hurdsfield
14 R Jon Nelson Rugby
16 R Ben Koppelman West Fargo
16 R Harlan H. Goerger West Fargo Y Y Y Y Y Y
16 D John Lund West Fargo
16 D Ben Hanson West Fargo
18 D Eliot Glassheim Grand Forks
18 D Marie Strinden Grand Forks
18 R Dane J. Ferguson Grand Forks
19 R Gary Paur Gilby
19 R Wayne Trottier Northwood
19 D Carol Gierszewski Grafton
19 D Robert Kilichowski Minto
20 D Rick Holman Mayville
20 D Gail Mooney Cummings
22 R Wesley R. Belter Fargo Y N Y Y Y Y Y
22 R Peter F. Silbernagel Casselton
22 D Allan Peterson Horace
24 D Sharon E. Buhr Valley City
24 R Dwight Kiefert Valley City Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
24 R Myrene Peterson Enderlin
24 D Naomi T. Muscha Enderlin
26 D Bill Amerman Forman
26 D Jerome Kelsh Fullerton
26 R Sebastian Ertelt Gwinner Y Y Y+ Y Y+ Y Y
26 R Kathy Skroch Lidgerwood
28 R Michael D. Brandenburg Edgeley
28 R William E. Kretschmar Venturia
28 D Joan M. Hoffman Ellendale
28 D Austin Wald Napoleon
30 R Mike Nathe Bismarck
30 R Diane Larson Bismarck
30 D Tom Decker Bismarck N N N N Y N N
30 D Daphne Ghorbani Bismarck
32 R Mark A. Dosch Bismarck Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
32 R Lisa Meier Bismarck
32 D Wade Schemmel Bismarck
32 D Jim Unkenholz Bismarck
34 R Todd K. Porter Mandan
34 R Nathan P. Toman Mandan Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
34 D Lori Furaus Mandan
34 D Sid Kadrmas Mandan
36 R Mike Schatz New England
36 D Shirley Meyer Dickinson
36 R Alan Fehr Dickinson
36 D Bev Berger Richardton
38 R Larry Bellew Minot
38 R Dan Ruby Minot Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
38 D Robert E. Kibler Burlington
38 D Mike Rose Minot
40 D Sue Olafson Glenburn
40 D Louis Pinkerton Minot
40 R Robert (Bob) Frantsvog Minot
40 R Matthew (Matt) Klein Minot
42 D Corey Mock Grand Forks
42 D Kylie Oversen Grand Forks
42 R John Mitzel Grand Forks
42 R Mike Peterson Grand Forks
44 R Donald L. Clark Fargo
44 R Blair Thoreson Fargo
44 D Joshua A. Boschee Fargo
44 D Bob Jansen Fargo
46 R Kathy Hawken Fargo
46 R Jim Kasper Fargo Y Y Y Y Y+ Y Y
46 D Diane R. Hill Fargo
46 D Lee Myxter Fargo
State Senate
2 R John M. Andrist Crosby
2 D Lynn B. Jacobson Alamo
4 D John M. Warner Ryder
4 R Daryl J. Lies Douglas
6 D David Paul O’Connell Lansford
6 R Pamela Smith Bottineau
7 R Nicole Poolman Bismarck
7 D Warren Emmer Bismarck
8 R Howard C. Anderson Turtle Lake
8 D Cole Uecker Bismarck Y+ N Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ N
10 R Joe Miller Park River
10 D Daryl Passa Drayton
12 R Bernie Satrom Jamestown
12 D John Grabinger Jamestown
14 R Jerry Klein Fessenden
16 R David Duff Fargo
16 D Tyler Axness Fargo Y N N N Y N N
18 D Connie Triplett Grand Forks
18 R David Waterman Grand Forks
19 R Tom Campbell Grafton
19 D Julius M. Wangler Grafton
20 D Phil Murphy Portland
20 R Melvin Erdmann Hillsboro
22 D Jessica Arneson Casselton
22 R Gary A. Lee Casselton Y N N Y Y Y Y
24 D Larry J. Robinson Valley City
24 R Keith E. Hovland Valley City
26 D Jim Dotzenrod Wyndmere
28 R Robert S. Erbele Lehr
28 D Greg Brokaw Ashley
30 R Ron Carlisle Bismarck
30 D Nancy Guy Bismarck
32 R Dick Dever Bismarck
32 D Wanda Rose Bismarck
34 R Dwight Cook Mandan
34 D Stacey J. Bendish Mandan Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
36 R Kelly Armstrong Dickinson
36 D Rich Brauhn Dickinson
38 R David Hogue Minot
38 D Clarice Granzotto Minot
40 R Karen Krebsbach Minot
42 D Mac Schneider Grand Forks
42 R Ross Lien Grand Forks
44 R Tim Flakoll Fargo
44 D Rick Olek Fargo
46 R Jim Roers Fargo
46 D George B. Sinner Fargo