Home » Oregon State Legislative Candidates

Oregon State Legislative Candidates


Oregon State Legislative Candidates

Dear Supporter,

Campaign for Liberty gave candidates for State House and Senate an opportunity to provide a straight answer to the following questions.  The candidates’ answers can be seen below the list of questions.


  1. Will you oppose efforts to cooperate with a national ID card system and vote to block all state funding for and cooperation with any national ID scheme including Real ID and Pass ID programs?
  2. Do you oppose the use of unmanned devices being used for law enforcement and used in order to fine citizens?
  3. Will you support a “Constitutional Carry” bill that would allow any law-abiding citizen to carry a firearm concealed without a permit?
  4. Will you support legislation to nullify ObamaCare and authorize state and local law enforcement to arrest federal officials attempting to implement the unconstitutional health care scheme known as ObamaCare?
  5. Will you support legislation to end the use of “no knock” warrants?
  6. Will you support legislation that would allow TSA agents to be charged with sexual assault if they use invasive “pat-down” procedures?
  7. Do you oppose taking federal money to create a state health insurance exchange?


State House “Y”=Yes “N”=No “+”=Will Sponsor
District Party First Last City Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7
1 R Wayne Krieger Gold Beach
1 D Jim Klahr Brookings Y Y N N Y N Y
2 R Tim Freeman Roseburg
2 L Jeffrey Adams Glendale
2 NA Mark Stephens Roseburg
3 R Matthew W. Hicks Grants Pass
3 C Barbara L. Gonzalez Grants Pass
3 L Johnie Scott Grants Pass
4 R Dennis Richardson Central Point
4 C Rick Hake Williams
5 D Peter Buckley Ashland
5 R Sandra A. Abercrombie Medford Y N Y Y Y Y Y
6 R Sal C. Esquivel Medford
7 R Bruce Hanna Roseburg
7 D Fergus Mclean Dexter
8 D Paul R. Holvey Eugene
8 R Aaron D. Baker Elmira
8 C Lucian Blansett Veneta
9 R Nancy R. Brouhard North Bend
9 D Catherine H. McKeown Coos Bay
9 L Guy Rosinbaum Florence
10 R Jerome D. Grant Depoe Bay
10 D David Gomberg Neotsu
11 D Philip N. Barnhart Eugene
11 R Kelly Lovelace Eugene
12 R Joseph P. Pishioneri Springfield
12 D John D. Lively Springfield
13 D Nancy Nathanson Eugene
13 R Mark A. Callahan Springfield Y Y Y Y+ Y Y+ Y+
14 D Valerie Hoyle Eugene
14 R Dwight D. Coon Junction City
14 L Sharon Mahler Eugene
15 R Andy Olson Albany
15 D Ronald Green Albany
16 D Sara Gelser Corvallis
16 R Andrew Decker Corvallis
16 L Rachel Feigner Corvallis
17 R Sherrie Sprenger Scio
17 D Richard Harisay Sublimity
18 R Vic Gilliam Silverton
19 R Kevin Cameron Salem
19 D Claudia Kyle Salem
20 R Vicki Berger Salem
20 D Jacqueline Pierce Salem
21 D Brian L Clem Salem
21 R Daniel A. Farrington Salem
21 I Marvin Sannes Salem
22 D Betty Komp Woodburn
22 R Kathryn LeCompte Keizer Y Y Y Y Y Y
23 R Jim Thompson Dallas
23 D Ross E. Swartzendruber Salem
23 WFP Alex Polikoff Corvallis
24 R Jim Weidner McMinnville
24 D Kathleen A. Campbell McMinnville
24 L David Johnson Dundee
25 R Kim Thatcher Salem
25 L Ryan Haffner Newberg
25 D Paul Holman Newberg
26 R John Davis Wilsonville
26 D Wynne Wakkila Beaverton
27 D Tobias Read Beaverton
27 R Burton C. Keeble Beaverton
28 D Jeffrey H. Barker Aloha
28 R Manuel A. Castanenda Beaverton
29 R Katie Eyre Hillsboro
29 D Benjamin Unger Hillsboro
30 R Shawn Lindsay Hillsboro
30 L Kyle Markley Hillsboro
30 D Joseph Gallegos Hillsboro
31 D Bradley Witt Clatskanie
31 R Lewis R. Barnes North Plains
31 C Ray Biggs Columbia City
31 L Robert Miller Scappoose
32 D Deborah Boone Cannon Beach
32 L Perry Roll Astoria Y+ N N Y Y+ N
32 C James Welsh Manzanita
33 D Mitch Greenlick Portland
33 R Stevan C. Kirkpatrick Portland
34 D Christian T. Harker Portland
34 R Dan Mason Beaverton
34 NA Lloyd C. Meyer Beaverton
35 D Margaret Doherty Tigard
35 R John Goodhouse Tigard
36 R Bruce R. Neal Portland Y+ Y+ Y+ Y Y N Y
36 D Jennifer A. Williamson Portland
37 R Julie Parrish West Linn
37 D Carl Hosticka Tualatin
37 L Meredith Taggart West Linn
38 D Christopher L. Garrett Lake Oswego
38 R Thomas Maginnis Lake Oswego
39 R Bill Kennemer Oregon City
39 D Christopher Bangs Canby
39 L Blake Holmes Canby
40 R Steven R. Newgard Portland
40 D Brent Barton Portland
41 D Carolyn Tomei Milwaukie
41 R Timothy E. McMenamin Milwaukie
42 D Jules L.K. Bailey Portland
43 D Lew Frederick Portland
44 D Tina Kotek Portland
44 R Michael H. Harrington Portland
45 D Michael E. Dembrow Portland
45 R Anne M. Gurney Portland
46 D Alissa Keny-Guyer Portland
47 R Margaret A. Nelson Portland
47 D Jessica V. Pederson Portland
48 D Michael J. Reardon Portland
48 R George W. Yellott Portland Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+ Y+
48 NA B. Anthony Smith Happy Valley
49 R Matthew Wand Gresham
49 D Christopher S. Gorsek Troutdale
50 D Gregory J. Matthews Gresham
50 R Logan B. Boettcher Gresham
51 R Patrick Sheehan Clackamas
51 D Shemia Fagan Portland
52 R Mark Johnson Hood River
52 D Peter Nordbye Brightwood
53 R Gene Whisnant Sunriver
54 R Jason Conger Bend
54 D Nathan R. Hovekamp Bend
55 R Michael McLane Powell Butte
55 D John W. Huddle Bend
56 R Gail Whitsett Klamath Falls
57 R Gregory V. Smith Heppner
58 R Robert E. Jenson Pendleton
58 D Heidi Van Schoonhoven Cove
59 R John E. Huffman The Dalles
59 D Gary L. Ollerenshaw Redmond
60 R Cliff Bentz Ontario
State Senate
1 R Jeff Kruse Roseburg Y Y Y Y Y Y N
1 D Eldon W. Rollins Coquille Y Y N N N
2 R Herman E. Baertschiger Grants Pass Y Y Y Y Y+
2 D James Diefenderfer Cave Junction
5 R Richard S. Roberts North Bend
5 D Arnold Roblan Coos Bay
9 R Fred F. Girod Stayton
9 D Steven H. Frank Stayton
9 NA Xavier Small Sweet Home
12 R Brian J. Boquist Dallas
12 D Annette W. Frank McMinvile
14 D Mark D. Hass Portland
14 R Gary Coe Portland Y Y+ Y Y
14 L Mark Vetanen Beaverton
17 D Elizabeth S. Hayward Portland
17 R Jan L. Verbeek Portland
18 D Ginny Burdick Portland
18 R Suzanne Gallagher Tigard
21 D Diane Rosenbaum Portland
21 R Cliff A. Hutchison Portland Y+ Y+ Y Y Y+ Y Y
22 D William Shields Portland
22 L Herbert Booth Portland
23 D Jackie Dingfelder Portland
23 I Bryant Olsen Portland
25 D Laurie Monnes Anderson Gresham
25 R Scott S. Hansen Gresham
25 L Eugene Newell Gresham
27 R Tim Knopp Bend
27 D Geri Hauser Bend
28 R Douglas K. Whitsett Klamath Falls
29 R William S. Hansell Athena
29 D Antone Minthorn Adams
30 R Ted Ferrioli John Day