Utah Primary State Legislative Candidates

Dear Supporter,

Campaign for Liberty gave candidates for State House and Senate in contested Primary races an opportunity to provide a straight answer to the following questions.  The candidates’ answers are shown below the list of questions.  

Note that the information below is provided for only those candidates whose names will be on the Primary ballot. Click here to view results received from candidates prior to the party conventions.


  1. Will you oppose efforts to cooperate with a national ID card system and vote to block all state funding for and cooperation with any national ID scheme including the Real ID and Pass ID programs?
  2. Do you oppose the use of unmanned devices being used for law enforcement and used in order to fine citizens?
  3. Would you support legislation that would require the courts to inform juries of the principle of Jury Nullification?
  4. Will you support legislation that would protect citizens’ right to film public officials performing their official duties, as long as they do not interfere with official business?
  5. Will you support legislation to end the use of “no knock” warrants?
  6. Will you support legislation that would allow TSA agents to be charged with sexual assault if they use invasive “pat-down” procedures?
  7. Will you support legislation that would allow school tax credits?


Survey Answers

          "Y"=Yes "N"=No "+"=Will Sponsor
Dist Party First Name Last Name City Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7
8 Democratic Ty McCartney Cottonwood Heights              
8 Democratic Josie Valdez Murray              
24 Republican Patrick Painter Nephi              
24 Republican Ralph Okerlund Monroe              
28 Republican Casey Anderson Cedar City Y+ Y Y Y Y Y Y
28 Republican Evan Vickers Cedar City              
4 Republican David Butterfield Logan              
4 Republican Edward Redd Logan              
6 Republican Jake Anderegg Lehi              
6 Republican Seth Moore Lehi              
16 Republican Steve Handy Layton              
16 Republican Chris Crowder Layton              
18 Democratic Doug Macdonald Framington              
18 Democratic Richard Bagley Centreville              
21 Republican Alison McCoy Tooele              
21 Republican Douglas Sagers Tooele              
27 Republican Mike Kennedy Alpine              
27 Republican Sarah Nitta Highland              
29 Republican Lee Perry Perry              
29 Republican Brad Galvez West Haven Y Y Y Y   Y Y
33 Democratic Liz Muniz West Valley City              
33 Democratic Neal Hendrickson West Valley City              
48 Republican Taz Murray Provo              
48 Republican Keven Stratton Orem              
56 Republican Christy Kane Highland              
56 Republican Kay Christofferson Lehi Y Y Y Y     Y
57 Republican Brian Greene Pleasant Grove Y+ Y+ Y Y Y   Y+
57 Republican John Stevens Pleasant Grove              
60 Republican Bradley Daw Orem              
60 Republican Dana Layton Orem              
68 Republican Bill Wright Holden              
68 Republican Merrill Nelson Grantsville              
72 Republican John  Westwood Cedar City              
72 Republican Matthew Carling Cedar City Y Y Y Y Y Y Y


Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF