Texas 2014 Statewide General Election Candidate

Campaign for Liberty gave candidates for statewide office an opportunity to provide a straight answer to the following questions. The candidates’ answers can be seen below the list of questions.

Survey Questions

1. Will you oppose efforts to cooperate with a national ID card system and vote to block all state funding for and cooperation with any national ID scheme including the Real ID and Pass ID programs?

2. Do you oppose the use of unmanned law enforcement devices being used to penalize citizens?

3. Do you oppose the use of state funds to advocate for growing the size of government through the use of hiring government employees as lobbyists, and/or paying for the lobbying activities of private groups or associations?

4. Will you support legislation that would allow TSA agents to be charged with sexual assault if they use invasive “pat-down” procedures?

5. Will you support legislation to protect the citizens of your state from federal officials who are implementing mandates in ObamaCare by creating state criminal sanctions?

6. Will you support legislation to end the use of “no knock” warrants?

7. Will you oppose any attempt to pass a ban on texting while driving as a primary reason for a traffic stop by law enforcement?

Survey Results

Key: = Yes, = No, = Chose not to answer

Office District Party Name Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7
Governor R Greg Abbott
Governor D Wendy Davis
Governor G Brandon Parmer
Governor L Kathie Glass
Attorney General R Ken Paxton
Attorney General D Sam Houston
Attorney General G Jamar Osborne
Attorney General L Jamie Balagia
Commissioner of Agriculture R Sid Miller
Commissioner of Agriculture D Jim Hogan
Commissioner of Agriculture G Kenneth Kendrick
Commissioner of Agriculture L David Palmquist
Commissioner of the General Land Office R George Bush
Commissioner of the General Land Office D John Cook
Commissioner of the General Land Office L Justin Knight
Comptroller of Public Accounts R Glenn Hegar
Comptroller of Public Accounts D Mike Collier
Comptroller of Public Accounts G Deb Shafto
Comptroller of Public Accounts L Ben Sanders
Lieutenant Governor R Dan Patrick
Lieutenant Governor D Leticia Van de Putte
Lieutenant Governor G Chandrakantha Courtney
Lieutenant Governor L Robert Butler
Railroad Commissioner R Ryan Sitton
Railroad Commissioner D Steve Brown
Railroad Commissioner G Martina Salinas
Railroad Commissioner L Mark Miller